180 Degrees aka New Office Space

30 Jan

I almost made this title, Doing A 180, but then I got hung up on the grammar.  Grammatically, it’s supposed to be, Doing aN 180, since the “1” starts with an “O”, but I don’t think that’s what people say… right?  Maybe that’s why I got my first B in English 101.  Yup.  totally happened.  OH, the shame.

Anyhow, last time I mentioned how sad I was, reflecting on Allan’s departure.  Jerk left us all behind in Georgia.  But the ONLY exciting part about it was being able to change the wall color.  It was previously a poo poo color.  Literally.  Apparently I was on some serious cuckoo medications when I made the decision to “go bold” with my color choices.  Brown in the sunroom/office and red in the guest bathroom.  Oh, and we’re choosing to ignore the lack of editing on these photos.  Let’s call it laziness. 

Poo Poo Brown

I know, I know.  Looking back, there were so many red flags.  SO. MANY.  But, you live and you learn, right?  Oh, and for the record…. never, NEVER use bold colors with Valspar’s paint. The paint chips so easily, it’s ridiculous.

I figured that I talk about painting so much that I thought I’d go through some “tricks of the trade”  aka “shortcuts that work for me.”

Note: This is not about painting itself… for that you can google hundreds of tutorials. like this one

(1)  Find a good paint.  I’m absolutely adoring Olympic’s ONE series right now.  Paint + Prime = Fewer coats of paint.  Plus it’s Low-VOC (that’s the nasty environmentally-unsafe stuff) and it’s easy to deal with.  And, it hasn’t chipped still!

(2)  Pay the extra money for decent brushes. Please. And it’s not even that much more… Like, $3 vs. $5-6.  Here’s the one that I swear by:  Premium XL Polyester Tight Spots 2″ Angled Brush with Short Handle.  I rarely have to tape off my edges now so that saves an hour or two of prep time.  That’s precious time, people!  And I’ve heard that the only place you can find them is at Sherwin-Williams (where I got mine) or Duron (never heard of it).  By the way, if you need tape, don’t use the 3M Blue… go with the green Frog Tape!!!!

(3) I use Glad’s Press’n Seal as liners for my sturdy paint trays.  It’s easy to clean up and I don’t have to keep buying the plastic paint trays.  The cost of one box of the Press’n Seal is how much you’d spend on 1-2 liners, but I’ve used the same Press’n Seal for 7+ painting projects and have just now run out. If you choose this route, double the layers because it might bleed through one layer.  You can kinda see in the photo below where I lined just the bottom of the tray and then added the bigger piece to cover the whole thing:

Makeshift Paint Tray Liner

(3) With this particular paint brand, they recommend 3 hours before doing a second coat, but it dries to the touch in an hour.  So, in the meantime, I use the same Press’n Seal stuff to wrap the rollers and brushes:

Wrapped Supplies

Ghetto Fab? Or Genius?

I was able to do the bulk of the work in 2 coats while all the areas done by brush required 3-4 layers of paint. Brushes just provide a thinner layer so the previous color sneaks through more easily.  You can see the difference two coats make compared to the one coat below the window and you’ll notice peeks of brown under the moulding in some areas:

1 vs. 2

Hence, Tip (4): Have patience!  And don’t forget to stretch while you’re working and crouching to get every. single. nook. and. cranny.

As for the paint color… I was really trying to go for an almost-white, but my subconscious was apparently screaming BLUE.  So it’s a really really pale blue (Olympic’s Evening Mist), which goes nicely with my light blue living room walls (Valspar’s Woodlawn Sterling Blue), and the blue-gray kitchen walls (Olympic’s Pewter Vase).  Whoops?

Color Choice

 

And the saga will continue….. 

One Response to “180 Degrees aka New Office Space”

  1. Tina January 30, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    Your home looks beautiful!!!

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

