Get Groutta Here

8 Jan

I hate a messy kitchen.  Even worse, I hate when the grout or tiles get dirty under your feet… it’s because you can never feel clean if the floor itself isn’t clean.   And we are a no-shoes-in-the-house-household.  I’m sure half of you think I’m a crazy germaphobe… but no, I do not carry hand sanitizer with me.  Simply a clean kitchen and bathroom = some semblance of self-cleanliness.

Anyhow, I didn’t want to use a bunch of chemicals because Kade stays so close to the ground and licks the floors randomly.  Not sure why… it’s about as random as a cat who runs quickly out of one room to another.  Go figure.

I simply made a mixture using OxiClean Detergent and water… I tried a pasty consistency at first, but realized that was silly.  Just make a thick mixture so that it’s still mostly detergent but easier for the brush to work the mixture into the grout:

Go Away Grossness!

See the difference?  All the area above the bowl has been cleaned… while the area next to the bowl was the next target area. I worked in patches and used a rag to wipe up as I went along.  And when my arms got tired? See below. 

Working Away

I have to say that I am incredibly happy with the results.  It’s been nearly 2 months and the grout is still holding up very well… just a couple of patches here and there that have become discolored again — all due to spilled food.  The mixture doesn’t eat away at the grout and it was SO easy. I finished it in one evening and it was well worth the knee pains.  We even had friends ask us if we got new tile…. THAT’S how spotless it was when all was said and done.  Plus it makes the tiles look brighter.  Pros > Cons. I can guarantee you that I smiled and looked down every time I walked into that kitchen for the next week.

Happy Wife, Happy Life.

One Response to “Get Groutta Here”

  1. Chris January 9, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    Your title was enough to get me to read this article! Get Groutta Here, so clever… 🙂

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

