Lusting

30 Oct

Okay, so lusting might be too strong of a word… but I can’t be the only eyeing something that you’d give anything to have….

….. you know, like that jacket you’ve been drooling over? Or a pair of shoes? Or a diamond ring?

Don’t lie (or let me down) and say you don’t have a single material item that you’d love to get your hands on!!!

Why do I bring this up?

Because a particular chair has been on my mind since the day I saw it in a Gap store over the summer.  I took a picture of it, which I’m sure Chris would have gotten self conscious about if he were with me…. but lost it when I broke my phone.  Darn.  So you’ll just have to believe me when I asked a Gap employee when they would switch out their displays… but apparently, the bigger items (unlike a picture/art piece) stick around in a store for a couple of years, so I was basically out of luck.

This was before I even looked at the maker. Wop-wop. I always do this. I always pick the most expensive thing. Of course, it would be made by the infamous Eames.

Since then… I’ve seen this chair everywhere: magazines, websites, etc. Extra stabs and jabs to my lustful heart.  It’s as if the chair itself is screaming, “you’ll never have me, Nina!”

It also popped up on HauteLook… for $499.  ON SALE. I’m scared to know what it would be full price….

Like I said…. WOP WOP.

Be still, my heart. Another awesome office chair will pop up… In the mean time, what are you guys lusting after?

9 Responses to “Lusting”

  1. hee choi October 30, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    too expensive,
    wait, you will probably find different chair later.
    first time, you really lustful, next time little less, next time little more less
    you going to be change mine later. you will glad that didn’t buy thing.
    I do all the time. I have a lots of temptation too.
    You are just like me !!!!!

  2. Chris October 30, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    That looks like a chair from a high school cafeteria…can’t say I’m a fan…

    • Barbara Putnam November 1, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      i agree. it does sort of. sorry nina 😦

  3. sooji October 30, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    🙂 i’ve been enjoying your home DIYs as well as your venture onto photography. i couldn’t help but to see this and want to chip in… though i’m not sure your hubs would be a fan of me doing this haha 😉 but myhabit is having a deal for chairs that look similar to the eames http://goo.gl/x9Y6v and modernica makes an affordable version of this chair http://modernica.net/fiberglass-shell-chairs hopefully one of these will work out for you! 🙂

    • NinaE at NinaSquared October 30, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      Thank you so much! I haven’t heard of Modernica before but love what they offer!

  4. Barbara Putnam November 1, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    …on the other hand, maybe the chair IS meant to be since it does keep popping up everywhere you go now or things you browse through. however, i’m sure you can find a waaaay cheaper alternative. i mean, $500 for a chair?! did you try sitting in it? does it feel like a cloud? if not, something else my dear. 🙂 my lust list? hmm… channing tatum? oh wait, tangible items… i’ll get back to you on that. 😉

    • NinaE at NinaSquared November 1, 2012 at 11:13 am #

      Hahaha… I guess I should have made it clear that I wouldn’t spend that much money on a chair. I have trouble shelling out $75 for one alone! No worries, my dear, I wasn’t really going to buy it 🙂

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

