Can I Get An Upgrade?

24 Sep

 

No matter how old I am, I think I will always love Beyoncé. Oh, and this Beyoncé – the – chicken story too (I can read it over and over again and keep laughing every time).  Plus, for your viewing pleasure, here is an AWESOME consequence of actions.  Seriously, if you don’t find it funny – we need to talk. And review our level of friendship.

Anyhow… a couple of weeks ago, back when we lost hot water, I asked my sister-in-law if I could have her old dresser because she was going to give it to Goodwill.  Modern-day Robin Hood here.  Oh, wait. Opposite. I take from the needy. Whoops.

Good thing I am a new graduate and unemployed.  Works in my favor.  Anyhow, after I stole this from others in need, I carried it around in my trunk for a few days:

Mostly because I couldn’t get it out by myself and Chris doesn’t care about me enough to remember details about my life.  That’s right, label me ‘needy’.  All jokes aside, I had plans for this bad boy.

That’s right – I upgraded.  I sanded using a sander given to me by Wendy.  Sanding in a complex is not ideal. Because you end up waiting until your neighbors are at work and dragging the piece to the side of the building and not keeping it in the garage.  Note the AC unit. And I had to lift the dresser over the bush to get it close enough to the outlet.

Prepping continued inside with wood filler:

If you saw my Pinterest page, you probably know what color I had my heart set on…  I pinned this one and this one.  Plus, I am on a huge gray/yellow kick.  Oh, and yes, because I have no garage, everything sat in my living room for about a week and a half.

Quick note: always remember that your paint darkens as it dries… for example:

Note that the edges just got a fresh coat of paint while the middle part of the drawer front is dry

I found knobs at Home Depot {their selection was much better compared to Lowe’s} at $1.89 x 10 for a total of $20.41.  Can’t beat it.  For the record, though, I got everything else – paint, extra foam rollers, satin poly finish, sanding material – at Lowe’s for about $40. (you know how I always have a Lowes vs. Home Depot thing)

Here’s how I measured out new holes for the knobs – gotta love that I’m still finding uses for index cards:

 

Okay, enough talking!

 

 

Ah, yes, my never-ending battle with lighting in this townhouse.  The color above is what you get when the lightbulb is on while the color below is what you get in full sunlight {all one hour of it}.

 

 

And there we go!  Another piece upgraded… and the guest bedroom is slowly evolving into something I can soon be proud of.  Long way to go though….

Hope you all had a great weekend!

 

3 Responses to “Can I Get An Upgrade?”

  1. jaime September 24, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    wow that’s gorgeous! very impressed 🙂

  2. Barbara Putnam September 25, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    First thing to come to mind with the title… no, not Beyonce, but def Jay-z… but ooold school Jay-z: Can I get a (beep) (beep) 🙂 Moving right along… that dresser looks so good! Super cute and I would totally buy one in the store if I had seen it. It looks professional. As far as the index cards go… I like to use mine still for a hot glue rest so any that drips out hits that card. 🙂

  3. Jae November 8, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    Beautiful. Great job.

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

