Back in the Bedroom

28 Aug

No, not like that.

I promised to keep updates going on the master bedroom.  Sadly, we haven’t come up with a solution to this hot mess:

I’m so embarrassed.

However, I did start looking for some Pinsperation… (you like how I did that?):

gray and yellow. sigh. dreamy! Love the combination of light and dark

Still in love with chevron… and loved the distressed look with the clean lines

Sources from: SMD and AT

The biggest requirement for this addition was that it needed to cost next to nothing.  Or cost nothing at all. Enter right: empty canvas pack and sample paint.

How the lack of steady hands and white balancing can ruin a photo…

For $0 plus a free chevron template (printed onto cardstock and cut out with an Exacto knife), I was able to start this:

I did it at the kitchen table while watching TV, so I think it took me about an hour and half when all was said and done?  However, the only thing I didn’t like was how light it was… the canvas color and yellow were just so…. plain?  So, I pulled out another sample paint in gray (it’s no secret that yellow and gray is one of my favorite color combinations right now), and I’ve used it before.  This obviously took a lot longer going by hand and I got tired of doing it… but I started to think that I liked having both options (or maybe I just wanted to stop after doing 2 canvases).

Chris, genius that he is, wondered if we could alternate the colors… which got me thinking – do we go with a straight line across? or do we create a 2×2 piece?

Side note: funny how a picture of the same wall taken with two different cameras at two different times of the day makes the wall color different? The one on the right (taken with my Canon 60D) is the truer of the two.

I stared and stared at the wall for a while and then consulted Chris and this is where we landed:

To hang it all up, I used these supplies:

I ended up not using the Frog Tape and also added a regular ruler and eraser (to erase pencil marks).  Hanging things can be an annoying process, so unless it’s something heavy, I prefer to do it alone.  Seriously, Chris and I end up at each other’s throats when we try to hang stuff together.  Plus, I’m better at eyeing things than he is.. HA.  I use a different method to hang based on the arrangement.  If you guys want more details for how I hang, I can work up a post for you.

I’m glad I was able to do this for ZERO bucks.  And now, I get to walk in to see this:

5 Responses to “Back in the Bedroom”

  1. Katie August 28, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Good idea! I think I may have to try something similar for our family room!

  2. Barbara Putnam August 31, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    i think it turned out great! i love the color combo. good job!

  3. Gina July 2, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    Two questions the gray & white wall paper in a padt pic I saw do you know where you got that and second how did you do the distressed cheveron large piece above bed? I love all pics.

    Gina

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

