All-Around Good Time

21 Aug

Disclaimer:  Picture-laden post!

This past weekend as beyond amazing! I finished my very last day of everything Emory-related on Thursday, so my weekend started early…

Friday

… with a visit from Christy and Ava!  Christy played a big part into holding my hand during the BIG camera-purchasing process… my mind also jumped with glee when she offered to let me borrow her super-amazing, 50mm f/1.4 USM lens!!  Each lens, as I’m finding out, is vastly different and requires a lot of learning and practicing.  No matter what you purchase, you have to educate yourself on the realms of what the lens has to offer in order to get the quality photos you’re looking for.  So we basically played around with my Canon 60D and her lens (NOTE: absolutely NO photoshopping done to the photos below except one):

Kisses for Mommy

She’s obviously as excited as I am about their visit. Totes obvs.

Getting her to say “hydrangea” was just about the cutest thing I’ve ever heard…

Is it just me or do little fingers make your heart melt too?

Soon after, I met with Ninaroo.  Which meant (naturally) coffee + a rare mani/pedi!  And we apparently were in the same kind of mood, because we picked the same mint green for our fingers and hot pink for our toes.

Can you tell who’s who?

We were sad that HU’s bosses wouldn’t release her until later that evening.. but at least we all got together – with our guys – for dinner at Newk’s.  Classy, you say? You betcha. Especially when it’s 1/2 off wine and beers – TGIF.

After dinner, we headed back to our house for a party!  That’s right… Chris threw an event together!  He really is the best. He also managed to put these up all over the living room and kitchen with the help of my brothers:

And we probably fit 20-25 people in this place – which is no easy feat!  But it was so incredibly great to see everyone, especially knowing that they made the time to come over and hang out!  You can probably tell from the picture below that I may or may not recall every single detail of the evening:

Yes, I was collecting that night…

The Original NinaSquared

One thing is for sure… Chris and I had one of the best nights ever in a long time!  We don’t go out too often and it’s been a while since we had that many people over – plus we saw friends that we hadn’t seen in months *ahem, DavidK, DavidP, BeccaT, and aforementioned significant others*!  It was beyond great!

Saturday

Saturday began with a somewhat lazy morning… and, for the record, I felt wonderful!  Chris, on the other hand.. well, we all know how he gets after having 2 glasses of practically anything.  😉  No matter what, they day held many promises of a good time because we were off to celebrate HenryH’s birthday at Piedmont Park!  Plus, a little bit of Wendy graduating from her Emory program as well!

Chris and Will

Henry, Dog-Lover Extraordinaire

Can’t say the view hurt the grilling experience….

At the same time, they had an art festival going on, showcasing artists from all around Georgia.  I didn’t get to capture much b/c I didn’t want to be that weirdo, but I did get a couple of random shots…

Cute little Meihong enjoying her temporary hammock…

And across this pond, you can see the little gazebo we had our own pictures done by Glen at Pixel-This (images 4 & 5): 

By the time we got home from being in the sun all day, Chris and I could barely move!  We did eventually, just to make it to the grocery store to pick up some items for a new dinner idea (seriously, our new favorite), which basically is  Taco Bell’s Crunchwrap Supreme.  For about $14, we had enough for 3 adults to have 2 each (which would have totaled about $25 at Taco Bell, I think).

Christy had also let us borrow The Lorax, so we popped that in and called it a night.  Well, I did, anyhow.  I couldn’t stay up and only managed to fit in the first half of the movie before I passed out.  I still haven’t finished it, but Chris really liked it!

Sunday

I wish I had more pictures to share, but we did also get to see some old friends, Amit & Florence, who are getting married next month.  Since Chris is in the wedding, he’ll stay here while I’ll be in Chicago for my cousin’s wedding, which is on the same day.  We had planned to meet at J. Christopher’s, but poor planning = long wait. We ended up at Waffle House.  Florence did mention it might have been her first time, so I guess it was a good choice… just not healthy.  haha.

As soon as brunch was done, we picked Allan up to meet my dad at Turner Field for Game 3 against the LA Dodgers.

Sadly, we did not win (the series left the Braves 1 for 3), but we did all get to enjoy (more) beer, peanuts, tachos, and good company.  Mostly, it was just good to hang out with our dad… my mom comes to Atlanta a good bit, but my dad’s visits are far and few between because of the odd hours for work.  I can’t wait for both of them to be able to retire and join us more often (perhaps move close to me one day?).

WHEW.  Like I said, the weekend was a whirlwind. Even just getting the pictures loaded took a painstakingly long time (thank you, U-Verse), but it was definitely a memorable experience.

4 Responses to “All-Around Good Time”

  1. Barbara Putnam August 22, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    omg first i have to say… that dog is TOO cute!! ok, moving right along. congrats again! sooo happy that that’s over and done with. 🙂 looks like everyone had a great wkd. m & i still have yet to catch a game. his schedule + my schedule = no beuno. the pictures of the little girl are beyond adorable. and the more i see you and chris together, the more it makes me happy. love you two! hope you have a great rest of your week!! xo

    • NinaE at NinaSquared August 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks!!! How much longer do you have until your schedule might become more normalized??

  2. Glen Wilson August 22, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Sounds like a great time Nina! Congratulations again; Becky and I are so proud of you. You definitely earned it! And yep, each lens requires a bit of a learning curve so practice a LOT! And thanks for the shout out! BTW – I LOVE the last picture of you and Chris!

    • NinaE at NinaSquared August 23, 2012 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks!!! I feel like you guys have been along with me for the ride, so it’s nice to change my story finally! So glad you liked the shout-out… but only because you deserve it! Tell Becky I say hello please!

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

