Goodwill Finds

18 Jul

I enjoy finding good deals… that’s no secret.  So, I thought I’d share some, since I actually found more than one thing at this Goodwill.  By the way, the Goodwill near Perimeter Mall is a freaking gold mine.  Hence the extra spending.

So, the wicker basket was $1.99 and bought with full intention… disclosed below!  The book was a perfectly fine hardcover by Jodi Picoult, selling for $2.50, and I bought it for 2 reasons:  1) I like her books for a quick and easy read and 2) the actual book (slipcover off) is a beautiful shade of red.  My goal after graduation (less than 30 days, people!) is to redo the 4×4 bookshelf in our living room and I’ve been getting some great ideas through Pinterest, since it’s been my immediate go-to source for inspiration (along with everyone else, I’m sure).

Moving along…

The red piece on the left is solid wood and was obviously painted by a random person and not purchased that way. And since it was $1.19, I went ahead and bought it knowing that I can sand it down and paint it a completely different color.  The items on the right, however, were my splurge.  Now, when I can find a Jonathan Adler bathroom set for $8, there IS no thinking. Here’s another link, going directly to his website.  Again, I bought this because I’ve been looking for white trays to go into both our bathrooms.  It was in very good condition, with the exception of a chip on the inside lip of the top.. no biggie!

See why I needed a white tray?

And the wicker basket got 3 coats of spray paint to bring organization to this space (NO judgement please… it’s a work in progress):

And it fit the small stuff perfectly!

And a quick side-by-side, $5 later ($2 basket + $3 spray paint):

I love this color SO much… it brings a smile to my face now that I’ve finally incorporated it into my space!  I’m thinking about switching up this frame, where we keep our memos and reminders before walking out the front door:

And GinaK, if you’re reading this… you can see how EASY it is to switch things up with a can of spray paint!  Once we get your technique down, you’ll become a pro!!! 🙂

4 Responses to “Goodwill Finds”

  1. gina July 18, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I love it! 🙂 🙂

  2. AlexOnActing July 18, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    You are so crafty and I love it. I want to get a sewing machine and alter Good Will clothes.

    • NinaE at NinaSquared July 21, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      Let’s do it! I just bought some jersey material to make a maxi skirt……

  3. Barbara Putnam July 26, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    me on pinterest? never! 😉 love the yellow and great steal on the bathware.

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

