Hosting Atlanta

13 Jul

About 3 weekend ago (I know, I’m so late on this!), my cousin visited from Chicago!  This is the same cousin that was in this video, but sadly his better half could not make it.  But that’s okay, because I’ll be seeing her in her gorgeous white dress later this year.  In addition, Brian’s little sister, Tina (yes, we have a Nina and a Tina in this family), also could not make it.  But hopefully she and Dave can come down another time… after Brian shares his RAVING reviews about Atlanta.  😉

Remember when I mentioned my love/hate relationship with Atlanta?  Well, let me tell you, it is MUCH easier to host in Atlanta than it is in Augusta.  We have one major road that holds everything the city has to offer that expands about 10 miles or so? (I’m terrible at guessing distances).  Meanwhile, Atlanta has a lot of great events and wonderful sights to see as long as you can ignore the heat.  Speaking of great events, this was the same weekend of the Haven conference, where my inspirations, Young House Love & Bower Power, were… and yes, it still excites me knowing they were in the same city as I am (though Katie Bower lives here, just not ITP).

I had a pretty open slate to fill with things to do when Brian came down from Chicago. So, what better way to do it than eating great food, having beers, and catching up? The only request Brian had made was visiting Heirloom Market BBQ, because it had gotten so many rave reviews:

And o.m.g. the food was AMAZEBALLS. They did such a great job combining Korean cuisine and barbeque – the sampler plate was perfect for 2 hungry boys while Chris and I both had the spicy pork sandwich.

Besides, who could resist a bottle at a barbecue restaurant that says “Hotlanta”?

It was a great thing we went to eat such a large meal and down some serious jasmine sweet tea… because next up, softball!  There’s a great group of people who put together a summer-long event that involves meeting every 2 weeks on Saturday to play a different sport – Chris played in Ultimate Frisbee a couple weeks ago.  Yes, it’s insanely hot.  But, it was a lot of fun to go with Allan, Brian, and Chris.  I got a hit on the first try against James!  Probably because he was busy with his randomly bleeding nose (was it dry that day? I don’t remember):

We got our stinky selves back home to rest for a while before I baked up some calzones (inspiration from here) – we’ve made these a LOT in the past, so it was kind of nice to bring it back.  Once we finished eating, we headed out to meet up with some more friends, including Nina and James, for a going-away party.  And what do we like to do for going aways?  Sing.  That’s right, we went to karaoke.  And. It. Was. Full. Of. Surprises.  I think Brian became surprised with Chris and Allan.  Chris because he can rap – like, Eminem and DMX stuff.  I don’t know where he pulls it out from — unless he practices from time to time.  And Allan was a huge surprise too because he’s normally so quiet and shy.  I loved this Allan.  I think he was more comfortable because Chris and Brian were on either side of him. Oh, and he had some beer.  Either way, Allan was an awesome singer as well!

Finally, what better way to end our night than a classic 2 a.m. visit to Waffle House?  Not this Waffle House.  Brian was so excited that we bought meals for 3 people for less than $20.  Seriously, he could not get over it.  I think that was the cherry on top for Atlanta in his opinion.

Sunday morning was slightly rough with Brian starting his convention, but at least he got to hear Condoleeza Rice do her thing at the Georgia World Congress Center.  Once we picked him up from the event, we quickly moved on to meet my mom at one of our favorite Korean restaurants: Jang Su Jang.  The food here is always good, but it is a tinier bit  on the pricier side.

Sadly, we had to get Brian to his hotel after dinner so we would all be rested up for our work weeks, but I was so glad he at least got to spend a couple of nights with us in our home.  Luckily, we got to meet up with him one last time to another Atlanta-based restaurant: Vortex.  If you haven’t been here yet, I don’t care if you’re just stopping by or live here, but it’s an absolute must!  Note: Everyone has to be 18+  years.

I’m so happy we got to have some great quality time with our cousin, since we rarely get to see each other.  It’s funny how some things never change as we grow, but I look forward to seeing him in Chicago, getting married to the love of his life this fall!!! Generally, I’m just excited to get back to Chicago….

Have a great weekend, everyone!

2 Responses to “Hosting Atlanta”

  1. Chris July 13, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    I’d like to point out that Brian is the sole owner in the entire country of a t-shirt from Heirloom BBQ. That’s impressive…

    • Barbara Putnam July 16, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

      haha

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

