Garden Update

24 May

Thought I’d provide a garden update since it’d been a while since I’d planted my mini “garden.”

They’ve all been doing very well and I’m so pleased with them all!  With all the random summer showers, I can’t keep up with their growth!  I’ve made SO many strawberry mojitos using the mint — which, don’t you think the strawberries have been extra delicious this season??? And the basil and cilantro gets thrown into anything I can think of.  Although, I will say that I learned this morning that I’ve been picking the leaves incorrectly.  According to The Skinny Gourmet, I shouldn’t be picking individual leaves, but actually cutting the stem right above the newly sprouting leaves.  It makes sense this way — the basil has been growing really tall and the leaves are huge, so cutting the stem allows you to keep your desired height while preventing the whole plant from toppling over from the weight.  Also, didn’t know this, but according to The Skinny Gourmet, if you notice any flowers trying to sprout at the top, get rid of them! As for everything else, I’ve been cutting them by the stems because the mint and cilantro love to grow sideways.  Lastly, the lavender I’ve continued to leave alone.  The flowers have just started sprouting a couple of weeks ago, so I think she’s taking her sweet time.

As for all the vegetables:

Sorry! I couldn’t get my phone to stop focusing on the backdrop, making the jalapeños blurry….

And my mom gave me this last one a couple weekends ago.. they’re not spicy peppers, but they’ll look like jalapeños when they’re grown.  They’re super delicious and super crispy when you eat them raw with some GoChuJang (Korean chili paste).

Finally, on to flowers:

When I planted these, there were two types, Cosmos (the actual blooming ones) and Verbena.  However, in recent months, the Verbena have not been doing as well as you might be able to tell… nope, they’re pretty dry and I have one clump of flowers left in them.  I know I’ll have to take it out to let the Cosmos do its thing (still pumping out beautiful pink, violet, and white flowers on a very regular basis), but I haven’t quite decided if I want to repot the Verbena with the hope that the roots are just crowding vs. trashing them.  I knew I’d be taking my chances by mixing the two flowers into one not-very-big pot, so I’m not all that surprised. According to the labels, which my dorky self keeps, both of these need 6″ of spacing on all sides of them for adequate growing.  Again, I just took my chances.  But to stray you away from my risky behavior… see the delicious herbs in the background?? 😉

At least I know I’ll be saving these babies in the end either way:

What about Hank, you ask?  Hank’s hanging out and confusing Kade’s friends in the neighborhood.  Yes, I actually had a neighbor tell me that his medium-large size dog, Roxy, stared at Hank for a good 5 minutes to make sure Hank wouldn’t hurt said neighbor.

On a side note, if you’re Instagramming like me (ninasquared) and follow Lauren Conrad, she had recently posted a photo with lots of Cosmos.  But my dorky self got super excited about this…

2 Responses to “Garden Update”

  1. nina park May 24, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    I love this! You’re inspiring me to want to plant mini gardens, too. I love cosmose!!! Good job girl

  2. Barbara Putnam May 24, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    oh hank lol i’ve never had a strawberry mojito but i think you should just make me one. 🙂 the flowers are super cute and yeah, like nina said, you’re inspiring me for whenever i get a chance to actually have a garden. love it!!

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

