Homemade Icecream Cake

21 May

This past weekend, we celebrated James’ 28th birthday! It was a whole weekend full of birthday celebration. Since last year his birthday was totally overshadowed by our engagement, this year I wanted to make sure this year his birthday was not overlooked. 🙂

We decided to have a small get together with friends and have the “annual birthday BBQ” once again. (Short background: Ever since I met James back in college, James has always loved having a BBQ for his birthday because every year in May the weather is just so nice and it feels so pleasant to be outside.)

Anyways, after planning the event and inviting 60 of his closest friends (not such a small get together after all), I knew that I wanted to get James an ice cream cake instead of a regular cake this year. Unfortunately, being the procrastinator I can sometimes be combined with a insanely busy work schedule, I didn’t check to see whether or not our local Publix carried ice cream cake. And because the local Publix back home (in Lawrenceville) always carried it I assumed they’d have it, too.  Bad assumption. They didn’t carry ice cream cake.

So in a panic, I tried to think of next best option. That is when a brilliant thought came to mind- why not make one myself? I had about 30 minutes before the BBQ, so I quickly did an online search for “homemade ice cream cake” and got some amazing results. After skimming a couple of recipes to get a rough idea,  I bought the ingredients and quickly assembled the cake together (recipe below).

When the guests came over to our home later that evening after the BBQ, I put candles on it and James was happy to have his ice cream cake. The best part is that it didn’t require any special baking or special cooking skills. It’s was the perfect recipe for a busy person like me.

Homemade Ice Cream Cake Recipe

Ingredients

  •   16 ice cream sandwiches
  •   1 container frozen whipped topping, thawed
  •   1 (12 ounce) jar hot fudge ice cream topping
  •   1 cup crushed chocolate candy bar of choice (I used Hershey Symphony’s Almond Toffee bar)
  •   1 cup crushed cookies of choice  (I used Keebler’s Fudge Strips cookies)

Directions

  1.  Arrange the ice cream sandwiches on the bottom of an ungreased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. dish or pan. Place 8 evenly along the bottom of the dish in. Spread with 1/4 of the whipped topping evenly.  Spoon fudge topping by teaspoonfuls onto whipped topping. Sprinkle the cookies and candy evenly across the whipped cream and fudge.  Spread with another 1/4 of the whipped topping evenly over the cookies and candy. Repeat layers with remaining 8 ice cream sandwiches and spread with remaining whipped cream evenly across the top.
  2. Lightly cover with plastic wrap and freeze in freezer for a couple of hours. Remove from the freezer 10 minutes before serving. Cut into squares.

Picture from allrecipes.com

Bon appetit!

4 Responses to “Homemade Icecream Cake”

  1. jaime May 22, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    You read my mind Nina! I was just thinking how I would love to make that ice cream cake right now! 🙂

  2. AlexOnActing May 22, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Yummy!

  3. Chris May 22, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    That was so freaking good…

  4. NinaE at NinaSquared May 23, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Ditto! I need to make that this summer! Thanks for sharing!

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

