Microsoft Word + Valentine’s Day

24 Feb

Weird combination, right? There’s purpose, I promise!

I forgot to mention what I got for Chris for our first Valentine’s Day (selfish me!!) – which wasn’t much, but personal.  I got him a UGA beer mug and am working on finding him a UGA coffee mug for his office desk.  But the biggest thing I forgot to share was his homemade Valentine’s Day Card, which I made using this tutorial, which I got from – wait for it – Pinterest! I know, gasp! surprise! intrigue! Ha.

So, basically it went like this:

(1) I began with using Microsoft Word and wrote “Precious Love” over and over again in the font that I wanted.  I chose that phrase because it was the name of our first dance on wedding night (almost a year ago already!), so it holds sentimental feelings for both of us.  (by the way it’s by James Morrison)

(2) Once I had it typed and spaced out how I liked, I tried using the directions the tutorial gave me, but I couldn’t get it to work.  I’m not sure if it was because I have a Macbook Pro instead.  But I got around it but taking a screen shot (Command + Shift + 3 for any Apple users) and cropping that screen shot image down to this:

"Precious Love" Screen Shot

 

(3) Besides Step #2, I had no other issues and was able to follow the tutorial until the end.  I didn’t take any more pictures of the rest, but I basically used Word’s auto shapes option and picked a heart.

(4) Click the option to format your auto shape and use the saved image as your “fill effect.”   Then you end up with something like this:

Bada bing. Bada boom.  Move everything around and customize it (I may have added “Nina Earnest, Inc 2012” to my own) however you’d like and print onto Card Stock! Bada bing. Bada boom! Yes, I am pretending to be Italian each time I say this.

Note: It looks a little pixelated on this computer screen, but did not when I printed it onto card stock.

So, just a little something fun and different for the ones you love – friends or significant others.

Before I leave you for the weekend, remember when I mentioned Colortopia and how I loved the option of using a favorite picture to help you create a color swatch for your home? There’s another website sponsored by Sherwin Williams called Let’s Chip It that allows you to do the same thing.  Just for anyone who likes options like I do.  Enjoy your weekend!  And keep Nina & James in your thoughts during their travel for safe journey-ing! Sigh – honeymoons, gotta love them!  And I know she’s super duper excited about starting up more with the blog.  She’s slightly overwhelmed with where to start – which I understand.  That girl’s full of good ideas!

4 Responses to “Microsoft Word + Valentine’s Day”

  1. Chris February 24, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Loved the card sugar britches! What’s with the sudden bada bing and bada boom…

  2. AlexOnActing February 24, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Command + Shift + 4

  3. Barbara Putnam February 25, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    haha sugar britches! thanks chris 🙂 that’s a really cute idea. i’ve gotten really interested in making my own cards and invitations lately so this is gonna be handy.

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

