NinaP’s Wedding Shower!

5 Feb

Whew! It’s really hard to be a hostess (and to write a blog, btdub)! I don’t know how people do party planning as a career, but they have earned my respect x 100.

First of all, finding the venue was incredibly difficult! There were so many setbacks that we had to push the shower back one week.  We also had to be incredibly cost-conscious because half of the bridal party are students (in Masters programs and Professional programs, not undergraduate – just to be clear).  So, we finally settled for the Meridian Buckhead.  When I say settled, it wasn’t as drab as it might sound!  It’s a gorgeous venue/clubhouse they offer for residents (it used to be free for residents, but of course they changed that policy before our event so we had to pay).  We had the venue for 3 hours and it worked out beautifully! Since we had boys in addition to the girls, we lucked out and had a pool table to keep the guys occupied.

But the best part about the shower: Decorations!

To go hand-in-hand with the wedding, I chose to follow NinaP’s color scheme of whites, silvers and pinks.  Boys be damned! 😉

With the inspiration for Typography art from this pin, I really wanted something personal and unique for them to keep somewhere in their new house.  I won’t lie, it wasn’t a short project, but well worth the effort! I kinda love it. And by kinda, I actually mean A LOT. I just used my watching-TV time during the winter break to slowly work on it:

James' In-Progress

Nina's Completed

Yeah, so I really want to have those in my own house eventually…

Next, I enlisted the help of my good friend, Wendy, who helped me way back when with the desk and gave me an awesome birthday gift, to help me make coffee filter flowers.  Then, my baby brother’s girlfriend walked in and I demanded her help too 😉

Few things to note: (1) I think this tutorial would have been much easier to use than the one I used because it’s more detailed and (2) floral tape sucks. I detest it. It seems to only stick to my fingers and not what I needed it to. It could have been my lack of experience or that we were using it for non-floral material.  No matter what, thank goodness for hot glue!

For the last DIY project, I went over to HU’s apartment to work on making Martha Stewart’s Tissue Pom-Poms.  They take a lot of “fluffing” to make them look pretty, but we love them!  It was difficult to find a super light pink color, but we thought this pink was pretty enough.

Then, to tie it all together, I borrowed, as usual, from MamaE.  She had a sign for our own rehearsal dinner and it’s individual stand-up letters that say “WE DO” and they were placed right in the middle of our setup!

Hyang Un was in charge of the games, which turned out beautifully!  We played a memory game, had trivia for the guests, put a little pressure on the soon-to-be-married with The Newlywed Game, and made tissue paper wedding dresses!  It made for really good laughs, lots of excitement and a little bit of healthy competition.

Boys Team Validating Their Win

Newlywed Game

The Newlywed Game

Toilet Paper Dresses

Who doesn't love some good presents?

For party favors, HU found some great favor boxes that made the shape of a cake when put together.  We simply stamped an “R” onto flat box, added the enclosed ribbon, and placed onto cake stands! We got it all done in about an hour to hour and half and they turned out beautifully – guests even kept thinking it was cake and would walk up to try and get a slice.

Party Favors

Of course, we still had delicious desserts:

Chocolate-Dipped Strawberries

I think I can write this off as a success!

James + Nina and the girls

James + Nina and the boys

4 Responses to “NinaP’s Wedding Shower!”

  1. Barbara Putnam February 6, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    looks like so much fun! you always do an AMAZING job nina! congrats to ninaP! i’m sure she’s getting really excited. it’s so soon! i also love the typography… may look into that. 🙂

    • NinaE at NinaSquared February 6, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Yes! It was actually this past weekend… I just didn’t have time to edit and publish the post until last night. Your comments always make me so happy! Can’t wait for your own wedding later this year!

      • Barbara Putnam February 6, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

        haha yeah i just saw that 🙂 well congrats to her again! lol

  2. Chris February 6, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    What a great event. Must say I was pretty impressed with those decorations. Good job team.

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

