Christmas Is Almost Here!!!

22 Dec

I cannot tell a lie.  I’ve never been Black Friday shopping……………

I know, I know, why would such a bargain shopper not want to take advantage of the best shopping holiday of the year?  One reason: It’s never been worth the fight.  BUT, this year, I thought maybe… MAYBE… I’d like to go.  NinaP and her boy-toy have made it tradition to go to the outlet mall, so I thought about joining them. But Hubby quickly shot that down.  Maybe next year………….

Anyhow, that’s my transition into shopping at Michael’s.  It was the one shop I went into on Black Friday – and I managed to get such a great deal!  You see, we have very little Christmas decorating items – tree ornaments, tree skirt, an adorable ceramic house that you can see here.  So, I was itching for anything I could find!  I bought 3 ribbons, wrapping paper, 3 candle holders, 3 red candles, a cookie cutter set, 2 packs of mini red ornaments (used here), acrylic paint, some styrofoam items (one used here), 2 charger plates, 2 packs of curly and glittery stems (you can catch a glimpse here on the TV table), and a few more —– all for the low, low price of $40.22! The total, of course, came up to much more, but I had the birthday gift card from Phan!

Once I brought my new lovelies home, I went to set everything down…. and I hear a loud crack. My heart stops. I look and look.  And it’s one of the new candleholders! the biggest one of them all…. broken!  Thank goodness it was a majority of big chunks and the entire thing was of cracked glass – I used my handy-dandy Epoxy glue and got that big boy back together! (sorry for all the dark photos — the downfall of having very little natural light in our condo/townhouse)

Viola! Can’t tell, I hope? It’s the gold one – and you can only really tell when you know where to look (I hope). Moving on! Here’s a couple more things we did around the house….

It's not exactly our style, but the entire thing (minus the charger) was free!

Our Christmas Card Holder

From MamaE last year - and our tree topper this year!

We didn’t really have a formal tree topper – we figured we’d wait until next year when we get a real tree.

But we did decide (as I mentioned here) to make Christmas ornaments together every year.  So we did this:

Swirling away and then figuring out what to write!

Once all the decorating was done, we moved on to the fun part: wrapping presents!  We have 2 rounds of presents this year – one for Hubby’s family and one with mine!  This will be the first Christmas away from his family… so I’m working super hard to keep some of his traditions alive!

Presents_Round 1: Earnest Family Christmas

Followed by:

Presents: Round 2

Oh, very quickly – the tags you see were found here and printed for free! Thank you Sass&Peril!

I’m sorry this is a sub-par post, but I really wanted to catch you guys up before Christmas – and it’s been crazier than I could have imagined around here!  I hope you all have a WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS!!!!!

One Response to “Christmas Is Almost Here!!!”

  1. Barbara Putnam December 23, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    love the ornaments in the vase – good idea! might have to steal that for next year. merry christmas to you too!! tell everyone hello for me!! xo p.s.-got your card. so cute!

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

