Blue and Yellow

31 Oct

You know? Like the song:

 

But imagine yours truly singing it with BLUE and yellow 🙂

That’s right! I’ve been working on the guest bedroom!  And, with the exception of working on the other furniture pieces, which will be made possible with Wendy L’s birthday gift, I think it’s getting awfully close now.

So, to see what I started with, click here.  It’ll take you back to painting the walls and trying to keep it “manly” enough for Andrew to reside in.  And then, you can click here to reference the desk again.

Since then, I came across some goodies.  Back story (as usual):  I was finally able to empty out the storage unit after about 11 months.  And since our almost-1100 square foot townhome can’t possibly fit any more furniture, I gave it all away (my parents told me to trash it, but I couldn’t bear the thought) to close friends in need.  I did manage to keep some belongings – and now we have to shuffle boxes and big objects around in the storage closet in order to get to anything else – but that’s okay! I have a lot of wonderful things and it’s really hard for me to throw things away.

On the flip side, it was a good thing I don’t throw things away!  I came across some navy blue curtains from me and Allan’s apartment my first year living in Atlanta (I had red curtains, his room had navy blue), and I realized that I could do yellow and navy blue for the guest bedroom!  I love when ideas fall into my lap — especially considering that I seem to be so incredibly forgetful.  And I think I’ll save my gray and yellow theme for the master bedroom.

Speaking of things falling into my lap… or running into them… I was shopping with Nina P and HU and we went to Target to kill some time.  And I ran into super simple white comforter set with stripes in multiple shades of blue on the bottom half of it.

For a queen size comforter + a set a shams on clearance for $19.99…. consider it SOLD!  Gotta love clearance sales, baby!  I was MORE than willing to replace the old light blue comforter that has been in our family for TOO LONG.

Here’s a picture to set a reminder… consider it a blast from the past.

mmm…. clutter…. (It’s okay, Andrew)

Here’s the new room!

Sorry about the lack of white balance and clarity… the point-and-shoot camera was a gift from Hubby-then-Boyfriend about 4 years ago… and I feel like it’s really dying on me.  It was a WONDERFUL camera for a long long time though! But the ISO on it has become a serious stinker.

Here’s a close(r) up of the comforter… straight on.

Plain. Simple. Perfect.

I’ll keep you guys updated on how well this thing lasts – I’m not expecting too too much.  It was $20 after all… the outside isn’t as downy soft as it might appear… and it IS white… and in a BOY’S room… a boy who frequently plays sports outdoors… sigh.  I’m sure you’ll hear my ranting soon enough.

Anyhow, I am working on figuring out some personalized pieces for the wall and once I am brave enough, I will show you the other side of the room – with all 3 mismatched pieces of furniture.  EEK!

Actually, on that note, and in the spirit of Halloween, I’ll leave you with a funny and completely unflattering picture of me and Chris at Gwinnett Medical Center – Duluth.  We went with his rotary to see a presentation about the DaVinci robotic surgery tool.  It’s pretty freaking awesome.  All those kids that play video games like crazy right now may find the potential work this stuff. Anyhow, we’re gowned up to go into the operating room.

Happy Halloween!

One Response to “Blue and Yellow”

  1. HU November 4, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    Loving the room transformation!
    LOL @ ur picture ^-^ keke

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

