Coffee, Coffee, Coffee!

21 Oct

Can anyone name that reference?  It’s okay if you can’t – it’s a random one and one that could probably only be understood by those close enough to me to know I have a mild obsession for Gilmore Girls… may they rest in peace.

…cricket… cricket… yeah, yeah, I told you it was a bit of a stretch!

ANYWAYS!!!

I had a quick project to share with y’all – and it’s a really fun one!  It all started with this inspiration:

From: The Cottage Home

Of course, I came across it on Pinterest, but Molly S. provided a PDF of a different tutorial for the same thing.  And since she had successfully completed a few of them herself using this version, I decided to go with hers! (Click here for the link)

I had stolen my mom’s Singer sewing machine from home a couple months ago in order to create a curtain for Allan’s open Ikea closet, so I did have a sewing machine conveniently laying around.  Are y’all surprised by my ability to sew?  Don’t be too surprised — my expertise can all be attributed to 6th grade’s Home Ec.  Oh yeah, baby, we sewed pillows and stuff…. advanced 12-year-old stuff

My mother, on the other hand, is a wonderful seamstress – curtains, outfits, hemmings – oh my!  Therefore, I know she has the goods when it comes to my sewing needs.  Luckily, my mother-in-law can also do wonderful things with a sewing machine… which includes making our ring bearer’s pillow for the wedding!  Gives me TWO people I can go to for help in the future… boo yeah!

I began with a trip to Jo Ann’s – and I never leave home without a 40%off coupon!

Perhaps I bought a few extra things I didn’t need… but wanted.  Oh well! Saved lots of money for stuff I’ll use in the future!

Note: I love my rotary cutter!! Really helps because my scissors are losing life, too.

Continuing to follow my directions, I layered all the pieces together and then sew away!

Finished product (sorry the picture’s a little dark, but you get the gist!):

And, there you have it! Another reason why we thoroughly enjoy our Pumpkin Spice Lattes!  Have a great weekend!

7 Responses to “Coffee, Coffee, Coffee!”

  1. thashaann October 21, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Bwahahaha!!! I didnt know my pumpkin spice latte needed a hug! But makes me excited for the kids’ holloween costumes Im gonna make this weekend 😉

    • NinaE at NinaSquared October 21, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      Thasha! Anything can be made better with a hug!!! 😉 Can’t WAIT to see what your little munchkins are going to be this year… I STILL talk about their Mythbusters costumes!

      • thashaann October 21, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

        They’re going to be the swine flu crew…and Im going to be the nurse and Larry is going to be the doctor, bwahahahaha!!!

      • NinaE at NinaSquared October 22, 2011 at 10:35 am #

        That. Is. Awesome. Did they come up with that by themselves again?! You have such smart kiddos! What are you feeding them???

  2. Teale Nist October 21, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Nina, that’s really pretty! I wish I had sewing abilities. My mom never taught me the feminine stuff and I didn’t pay attention to the Ostrich I sewed together in Home Ec. Lol. Anyway, keep making those and make a profit! They’re pretty!

  3. Barbara Putnam October 22, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    super super cute!! make a UGA one 😉

  4. Molly Stoddart October 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    That turned out super awesome! I need to make some more of them.

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

