One of THOSE days..

11 Oct

I think I’m so funny sometimes – like a seesaw of emotions.  Do you ever have those days where you just know that something’s not right within yourself and you’re not sure what it is?  Almost like something is missing… or you’re not living up to your full potential… or you haven’t seen your parents in a while… or your friends’ absence/unhappiness saddens you more than you realize… or it’s been a while since you’ve had one-on-one QUALITY time with your better half?

Maybe it’s our gloomy, dreary, wet weather… maybe.  As Amanda R. would agree, these days are normally perfect to sit inside on your favorite piece of furniture, make a cup of coffee or hot chocolate and watch hours and hours of Gilmore Girls or read a gosh darn good book.  Maybe it’s just me and you, Amanda, but these types of days usually make me think of you!  The problem is that when you can’t do the activities listed above, you’re stuck driving in crappy weather and doing other things with a headache (is it weird that I always have a headache when it rains?) and can’t stop dreaming about your bed!

Well, I’m making the most of it, sitting in a Starbucks, happily avoiding my loads of school work (procrastination becomes a close friend when it comes to school work), and drinking my Pumpkin Spice Latte.  But I will say that my day started to nearly spiral down when I realized that I really miss my parents and that hearing my dad’s voice on the phone nearly brought me to tears.  Heck, it’s making me tear up and my chest tight as I write this.  It’s hard to describe the love I have for them but it’s like chest-welling-love.  That’s the best I can do.

But then, I’m saved.  I have an amazing lunch with an amazing friend, one that I don’t know if he even understands his value to me (Patrick P.).  And then you remember why your few and close friends and family are still around — they bring you back. They remind you of your own self-worth.  As my nerdy self would say, it’s like recalibrating to zero.  And I am a stern lover of balance (see my motto above)!  So yes, I have loads of crappy moments, sad, mad and frustrated moments… but it’s because I have to offset my tendency to be over-excited-easily-moments.

But of course, there are always things to work on and millions of ways to improve oneself – it’s just figuring out what exactly is bothering me first.  And knowing which battle I want to choose right now.  Got to accomplish the small stuff first with successes before attempting to beat the Goliath of bad habits/battles.  That’s right, Mom, there’s your Bible reference.

3 Responses to “One of THOSE days..”

  1. Chris October 11, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    sad to say it…but i miss rainy days filled with coffee and good tv. stupid responsibility.

  2. AlexOnActing October 12, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Don’t forget about how painting on Sunday balanced out your life!!

  3. Barbara Putnam October 12, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    i was having this same type of day just the other day too!! and for me, i was lucky enough to escape for a couple of days… as i sit here in my parent’s dining room replying to you. 🙂 completely random, i love the pumpkin spice latte BUT i discovered the one from dunkin’ is waaaay better. please don’t tell starbucks. i’m now down in columbus so the drive home is much longer and the distance between friends saddens me but like you, i pick my battles and realize that i’m the only one who decides what kind of day i’m gonna have. thanks for the post!! the timing was perfect. xo

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

