THE desk that started it all…

15 Sep

That is what I hope I can say 5 years from now… heck, I hope I can say that 2 years from now!!  Maybe I should rename the post to “The desk that will hopefully start it all…”?

To start, I should probably fully disclose my weirdness and express my wishes for owning (1) an electric sander and (2) a circular saw.  Yes, I CAN hear you laughing through my computer screen! But I have big dreams, I tell you, BIG!  Of course, then my mother will kindly and lovingly remind me that I start and prematurely end so many of my projects that it’s a miracle I ever get anything done.  Right, Mom?

but ANYHOW, remember I expressed my love for Pinterest?  Here’s how I’ve slowly started putting my ideas together.  I swear that I ask Hubby about getting a new and bigger house at least once a week.  And then, I immediately turn around and complain about how I couldn’t imagine cleaning up after our never-ending-all-the-time-shedding black lab if we had any more square footage. Oh wait, I didn’t mention the baby of the family yet?   Let me introduce you to Kade!

Sleepy Dog = Cuddly Dog

Here’s another one to show you how dramatic our lazy dog is:

Kade's Favorite Bed of Choice

We love our 3-year-old and I think he’s such a great and well-trained dog… But his shedding does not mix so well with my OCD-cleaning self.  Poor Hubby, he does so much by trying to beat me to the vacuum… but you can’t beat someone to the vacuum if you can’t see what I see.  ANYWAYS……….

Back to the beginning: THE desk.

So, I had this desk in storage for almost a year – after I moved in, we bought a bigger desk and put the old one away  along with my old furniture.  With Andrew moving into the guest bedroom that was just freshly painted,  we definitely needed a desk to go along!  I realize that I could have left it alone because there are 3 other pieces of “wood” furniture that don’t match each other either.  But I wanted to pretend to be an adult and give decorating a try. With a $0 budget.  Not really $0, but close enough.  If I had all the money in the world, I could definitely decorate. And shop for TONS of beautiful clothes.  But I don’t. Oh well, who doesn’t enjoy a challenge every now and then?!

So, I took this:

Thank you MamaE, for letting me have this desk!

Sanded it down – by hand – and primed it.  Sanding this bad boy down is the reason I’d love to have a machine sander (whatever it’s called) on hand… Don’t you understand, I have SO many more projects in mind (a dresser, filing cabinet, TV stand, on and on)!!!

Oh, and my supplies included medium-grit sandpaper, fine-grit sandpaper, Elmer’s Wood Filler, spatula, Zinnser’s Cover Stain Oil-Based Primer, foam brushes, paintbrush, latex paint and Minwax’s water-based polycrylic.

You’ll see the word “REDUCED” on the red and white sticker of the Olympic Paint.  That’s because I found the paint on the CLEARANCE rack at Lowe’s!  Which translates to an easy pick for shade of white (it was really just a normal plain-jane white color to me)  and only paid THREE dollars!!! Remember my (near) $0 budget?! Go me! Or, go whoever-decided-they-didn’t-like-white-that-day!  So, yes, I paid more for the little can of Polycrylic than I did for the bigger can of paint! And yes, I got semi-gloss because of the surface it was going onto.

Once I got the 2 coats of primer down, waiting the appropriate time between coats (as suggested on the can), I then brushed on 2 coats of the white paint.  Oh, and you see the holes on the legs above?  That’s where the Wood Filler came in.  It’s not perfect because I added it in between the 2 coats of paint and Laziness kicked in.  No one would notice but me, right?  Right!

I brought it in to let it dry overnight… I wish I could say that I continued the next day, but no….. It sat there for about 5 days — in the middle of our living room. For. 5. Days.

But then! My wonderful, crafty friend, Wendy L came over and we had a painting party!!!

I worked on the stenciling, which I got from Jones Design Company (for free!), and of course, originally found on Pinterest.  Meanwhile, Wendy followed closely behind me and started painting using a gray paint that I had from painting the master bedroom.  As soon as I finished stenciling, I helped Wendy finish the painting – a LONG and tedious project, by the way.  I can’t thank you enough, Wendy!

And here is the finished product:

I kinda love it! In actuality, I REALLY love it!  I don’t know if it’s the feeling of accomplishment or the pattern (which is Mimosa, according to MollyS) or the fact that the pattern gives a subtle hint of personality… or all of that combined.. but I LOVE IT!

I wish I could provide a better picture, but we don’t get a lot of natural sunlight in our house… except between the hours of 3-5pm, and it’s awful hard to wait around and try to remember to get a picture… Sorry!

11 Responses to “THE desk that started it all…”

  1. Chris September 15, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Impressed. Damn good first piece and I’m looking forward to the next one!

  2. Molly Stoddart September 15, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Dude, that looks so awesome. I’m completely inspired (although I would never have the patience to paint in the stencil lines). I guess I’d have to do something more geometric – chevron probably, that way I could use tape and not have to worry about messing up fine painting tactics.

    We have a reciprocating saw (needed it for a specific project, which is a long story), but a circular saw will be more useful (and a bit safer) for what you’re doing.

    • ninasquared September 15, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      I can’t wait to do Chevron on something… I’m thinking the side of a dresser or something… but I think that the daunting-ness of time was the reason it stayed untouched between the white paint and stenciling! And thanks for the heads up on saws 🙂

  3. Linda Dimond September 15, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Hi Nina! I just stumbled upon your blog through your FB. I promise I’m not a stalker! Just wanted to say that the desk looks awesome. I, too, have started (and mostly not finished) several projects, thanks to Pinterest. 🙂 Hope you are well!

    • ninasquared September 15, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      Hey Linda! No stalking worries at all! I post it up on facebook for a reason 😉 I am SO happy to hear that my obsession with Pinterest is normal!! Let me know when you get through with some of your projects… I’m sure you have some pretty awesome and creative ideas! Thanks for commenting… Keep visiting as you please!

  4. Barbara Putnam September 16, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    nina E!! 🙂 it looks absolutely awesome and i love the pattern! i love little dyi projects. they’re fun and they always give you a sense of accomplishment when finished. anything artsy and i’m in. can’t wait to see what else you come up with.

  5. AlexOnActing September 16, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I dunno Nina. Maybe a Pikachu pattern would have been better.

    • ninasquared September 16, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks Alex <—– world's best critic, self-proclaimed

  6. Wen September 17, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I’m glad I got to partake! it turned out PERFECT =]

  7. Diane November 6, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I think the desk looks great. Dewey does have a circular saw and a mouse sander which isn’t too big but better than manual. Are there tools on your Christmas wish list?

    • NinaE at NinaSquared November 7, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      Thanks Mama E! I was hoping you’d like the desk since it was yours… I actually got a sander for my birthday from Wendy, but I think I’ll be over to get some use out of the saw 🙂

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

