Sunshine Day

7 Sep

So, it was a teeny bit hard to figure out what my first post will be… we’ve had so many projects going on here and there!  But, I guess the project with the biggest per square foot difference would be painting the guest bedroom!  And no, there is no other reason for this title besides the fact that it has to do with yellow paint.

We started with this picture, taken during our first visit (our unit was the model home):

Currently, we’re on our  third tenant — first guy was a great friend of ours… and happens to be NinaP’s fiancee, followed by my baby brother (Allan) and now the middle brother(Andrew) – and I am just now touching the wall paint!

However, this actually turned out to be for the better, because boys like to be silly and put workout bars over the door frames to do pull-ups on —- JAMES.  I suppose it would ordinarily be fine, if only it didn’t leave nasty black marks!!! (Sorry, I never took a picture of that nastiness for proof… you’ll just have to believe my OCD-like self)

So, before Andrew (remember, middle brother) started school, we finally decided to paint it! YAY for paint — I swear it’s  miracle worker.  Well, that and adding curtains to any window. Our color was Sherwin-William’s HGTV Line – color matched to Sherwin-William’s Lemon Chiffon.  Sounds delectable, does it not?!?  I’ll even do you a favor and let you see it for yourself…

See?! Sunshine Day!

Although, when I look at it now, and I’m not super good at this, it seems to have a little bit more brown/tan in it.  Am I crazy? Do you see it too? Ohhhh well, can’t change it now! At least not for now 🙂  There’s my #2 “whoops.”  Number 1 “whoops” was when I realized just how yellow the wall came out.

Sorry for the unclear picture - didn't have my point-and-shoot on hand!

I know it sounds weird, but I was imagining a pale yellow, but as it went up on the walls, I realized it was the same yellow I used to have in my old bedroom back in Augusta. It was my subconscious speaking (we moved out of that house back in 2007.. and by “we,” I suppose I mean my parents).  Honestly, I don’t mind the yellow… I just feel bad for Andrew because I didn’t want him or his friends to think he had a girly room.

The finished product:

Please, please, please ignore the fact that there are (1) no window treatments, (2) no headboard, (3) the very old, bland, non-decorative comforter, (4) not properly balancing the photo so that it now has a bluish tint.  It’s hard to balance my hopes and dreams for this room with a younger brother’s wishes and desires to keep things boyish.  But take a quick peek into the bottom right corner… I’ll fill you guys in soon!

In the upcoming posts, I’ll fill you in on our home’s color scheme and on a project I did for the guest bedroom..

6 Responses to “Sunshine Day”

  1. HU September 7, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    I don’t see the yellow 😦 -HU-

    • ninasquared September 7, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Ooooh… I agree. Not looking so hot. I’ll try to get a better picture when the sun comes back out!

  2. AlexOnActing September 7, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    You can paint my room.

  3. Molly Stoddart September 8, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I like the yellow! Paint can totally change everything. Go with the yellow – add some awesome grey accents. I can absolutely picture some gorgeous grey window treatments with a geometric pattern.

    • ninasquared September 8, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Molly! I was actually looking all up and down Pinterest and West Elm (since they have that 20% sale) for some grey curtains!!!) Miss you tons!!!

  4. Chris September 12, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    be happy i’m color blind…pretty much leaves the door wide open for you on paint choice.

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

