The Good Life

31 Aug

Sometimes, I wonder how I got so lucky.

I come from a great, hard-working family – my parents came from Korea nearly 30 years ago for hope of a better, more successful life.  I’m not sure how others may view success, but I think they’ve done a pretty darn good job.  They have slaved away, not only to learn a new language and culture, but to adapt and survive in every way.  They have raised three kids, with me, the only daughter, as the “firstborn.”  Lucky me!  I have two younger brothers to boss around… and although mistake me for being the youngest, I still boss them around.  Although, I am 99% sure it’s only because they’re the nicest guys around!  I could go on forever about my own family because I adore them so freaking much… but I’ll stop for now!

In addition, I met the best boy in the entire world.  I seriously don’t know how he puts up with me and my craziness – crazy, fleeting amazing ideas included.  Sometimes, I just want to give him a high-five just for surviving another day of me.  Seriously, Hubby, congratulations!

This wonderful picture was taken by Glen Wilson, who works until Pixel-This. We are HUGE FANS of him, his wife, and his work!

Okay, okay, enough about other people – more about me!  It pretty much comes down to the fact that I absolutely, no matter how much I try, am horrible with keeping journals.  I did it growing up and went through notebook after notebook, but nowadays, I can’t seem to sit long enough to write things down.  Typing, on the other hand, I can do!  It’s much quicker for me to type out my hummingbird-like thoughts – it’s not normal to develop cramps after 10 minutes of writing, is it?  You need proof?  I have a journal that NinaP (soon to be Ninaroo – she’s on the left in the picture below) gave me, way back in 2006 (maybe 2005?), which initially re-sparked my journaling.  Yet, I have only gotten through 3/4 of the darn thing – and it’s 2011!  NinaP?  She started one around the same time and she’s already gone through hers and then some.  Yes, yes, she’s pretty much better than me at everything… and I LOVE her for it!  Seriously, she’s my rock, my confidante, my other half (my girly half).

 Which brings me to the point of this blog: Nina² (ninasquared).

This past summer, while supposedly studying for the NCLEX, I grew a big place in my heart for blogs.  I didn’t really understand the need for people to put their lives out into the world wide web abyss, but I have come to realize that it really is a great way to keep memories, allow for family members to feel closer to us, and to provide a quick way to self-reference major life events.  Proof? Since the beginning of my NinaP-Journal, I’ve graduated from the University of Georgia, graduated from Emory University’s Undergraduate Nursing program, got married to my amazing Hubby, began the Emory University Graduate Nursing program traveled to many states and a couple of countries, and have been lovingly fixing up our Atlanta condo!

Therefore, the blog is an idea I’ve been toying with for a short time now, and since I usually need someone to emotionally (and literally) hold my hand with whatever I’m doing, I decided NinaP would be the perfect person!  She’s a great go-to person for ideas and energy (she wanted to make this into a full-on website before I even got the first words down) and I also that if I asked her, she’d dive right in (I get super special privileges like that) without any questions!

I’ll leave the other half to her, but above all, she’s about to start her own life with her Mr. Wonderful – which means that she’d be just as excited to do this with me!!!!!!

Wish me luck!

3 Responses to “The Good Life”

  1. Chris August 30, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    I’m so excited about getting to see your most inner and personal thoughts!!! Congrats Nina!

  2. Wen August 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    YAY!!! I”m excited too to read about your life! but ONLY after you tell me in person ! =]

  3. AlexOnActing August 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Soooo….is this blog about Sports?

Share the Love -- leave a comment!

